Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 6th, 2008

Spice is Nice

 img_6476b

If I haven’t already said it, I love Fall.  I love the weather, especially the cool days when the sun still shines and the leaves are just starting to fall.  I love the smell of fireplaces being started for the first time in months.  I love how much bluer the sky seems to me.  I love that it’s not 90 degrees anymore.  But most of all, I love the fall food.  Comfort food.  Soups, stews, casseroles, and, of course, sweets.

Fall is that time of year when we depart from the fresh and light of Summer and jump face first into heavy, spicy, creamy and hot.  It’s finally cool enough in the kitchen to actually spend some time in there without an air conditioner blowing full boar.  Yes, it’s finally time for spices: cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, ginger, and molasses.  It’s time for people to once again celebrate my favorite food fruit – apples.  And it’s finally time again to pop some cans of pumpkin.

I believe it’s required somewhere in the list of Foodie rules out there in the blogosphere that if you are a food blogger, then, come Autumn, you must post about pumpkin at least once.  Really.  I’m pretty sure the food police will come and find you and shove a real pumpkin up your nose if you don’t post at least one pumpkin recipe.

And so it is, for that reason, that I choose at this moment to blog about cookies – Big, Soft, Ginger Cookies.  What?  No pumpkin?  After all that talk about pumpkin?  Yeah, that’s right.  I did talk a lot about pumpkin, and, if you are desperate for something pumpkin, I may actually blog about something in the weeks to come.  Don’t forget, I wrote about spices too.  And spices are what I want to focus on right now.  I’ve seen a ton of blogs on pumpkin cookies, pumpkin bread, pumpkin rolls and pumpkin pie, you don’t need another one here.

Let’s keep this simple.  If you like soft, spicy cookies, make this recipe.  If you don’t like them, well, at least read my blog and leave a comment.  I’m sure if I could share one of these with you, I may be able to make you into a convert.  For now, you’ll just have to trust me.

I didn’t capture many photos this time, I can’t say why, maybe I was just being lazy.  Be that as it may, click on any photo below to see a larger image.  If you are tempted and would like to try this recipe, I’ve posted a copy here.

img_6467b    img_6469b

Read Full Post »